Fried Green Tomatoes

The first movie I’m going to talk about is Fried Green Tomatoes. Here’s a quick summary. The movie stars Joon from Benny and Joon and the mom from Weeds. And it’s basically about two women who become friends over time and is set in the 1930s. Idgie, played by Mary Stuart Masterson, goes on trial for killing Frank Bennet, which is Ruth’s husband, after he had supposedly been beating Ruth. And yes Ruth is the mom from Weeds. It also stars Kathy Bates (before American Horror Story) and Miss Daisy.

IMG_0397 (1)Anyway I chose this film first because it is the whole reason for my blog name. I already told you why I called the blog Fried Green Tomatoes so I figured I should make the actual movie my first topic. With that being said this is one of my favorite films. This movie is something I would to call a ‘tbt’.

It’s a good, old heartfelt movie that you have got to see in your lifetime. I really like the story and the huge plot twist. Spoiler Alert: Sipsey did it. Even though only Jessica Tandy was nominated for an Oscar I feel that the whole cast did an excellent job. My favorite character would have to be Grady. I kind of wished him and Idgie would’ve worked out but she never really states her sexual preference throughout the film. 😉 But either way it was and is still a good film that should be on my list.

I Will Remember You by Sarah Mclachlan

Fried Green Tomatoes Trailer

 

Leave a Reply

